John Frusciante

Lollapalooza 2006 Chicago

Birth Name: John Anthony Frusciante

Place of Birth: Queens, New York City, New York, U.S.

Date of Birth: March 5, 1970

*Italian, Puerto Rican (father)
*English, possibly other (mother)

John Frusciante is an American guitarist, singer, composer, and producer. He is the former guitarist for the rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers. Other members of the band include/have included Flea, Anthony Kiedis, Josh Klinghoffer, Dave Navarro, and Chad Smith.

He is the son of Gail West (Haworth), a musician, and John Augustus Frusciante, a retired judge.

John’s paternal grandfather was named John C. Frusciante. John had Italian ancestry, in Apice, Benevento, Italy.

John’s paternal grandmother was Lydia Fortunata Colón Jiménez (the daughter of Hermogenez/Hermogenes Jiménez de Soto and Maria Dolores Colón Ortega). Lydia was born in Aibonito County, Puerto Rico. Hermogenez was born in Caguas, the son of Genaro Jiménez de Delgado and Brigida Soto. Maria Dolores was born in Barranquitas County, the daughter of Ramon Colón and Angela Ayala Ortega.

John’s maternal grandmother was named Edith Haworth.

Photo by

11 Responses

  1. andrew says:


    is there something to fix in this profile?

  2. andrew says:

    @ madman

    Through these records, I found Gail Haworth Bruno’s parents are/were Toni Bruno and Antoinette Macchia.

    John Augustus Frusciante is likely the son of John C. Frusciante (1920-2008) and Lydia. No evidence about a Generoso Frusciante (reported by an Italian website)

  3. madman says:

    John’s father’s middle name is Augustus. His mother’s name is Gail Haworth (Bruno) Berkley. She is a musician.

    • andrew says:

      So is John’s mother part Italian too?

      • madman says:

        This was all I managed to find for now that is certain. I don’t know her ancestry, but the surname “Bruno” seems a little too vague to conclude Italian ancestry.

        • andrew says:

          Bruno could be her maiden name, Haworth the middle name and Berkley a re-marriage surname. Thank you for the effort.

          PS. : can you find something about the DeLeo brothers of Stone Temple Pilots?

          • madman says:

            Those are all correct, Haworth is her middle name, Bruno her maiden name, and Berkley her remarriage name.

            As for the DeLeo brothers, their father is of Italian descent, and their mother has English ancestry.

  4. andrew says:

    I didnt find anything more about him.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.