Nigel Hawthorne

Birth Name: Nigel Barnard Hawthorne

Date of Birth: 5 April, 1929

Place of Birth: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

Date of Death: 26 December, 2001

Place of Death: Thundridge, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.

Ethnicity: English

Nigel Hawthorne was an English actor. His roles included the films Firefox, Gandhi (1982), The Black Cauldron, Turtle Diary, Demolition Man, The Madness of King George, Richard III (1995), Twelfth Night: Or What You Will (1996), Amistad, The Object of My Affection, Madeline (1998), and The Winslow Boy (1999), the series Yes Minister; Yes, Prime Minister; and The Fragile Heart; and many acclaimed stage performances.

Nigel was the son of Rosemary Agnes (Rice) and Charles Barnard Hawthorne, a physician. When he was three, his family moved to Cape Town, South Africa, where his father practiced; living in the Gardens and then near Camps Bay. He returned to the U.K. in the 1950s.

Nigel’s paternal grandfather was named George Hawthorne. George was born in Chepstow, Monmouthshire.

Nigel’s paternal grandmother was named Elizabeth Hawkin.

Source: Genealogy of Nigel Hawthorne (focusing on his father’s side) –

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.